Delivering the news people really care about!

What Are the Best Vegan Candies?

It may seem like vegan candies are healthier than conventional ones, but the truth is that they still contain sugar. This means that they should be consumed with moderation and mindfulness. Dietitian Sydney Greene takes the recommendations for her clients’ diets very seriously, and checks each product against third-party testing websites to ensure that it is safe for people to consume.


If you’re a vegan, you may be wondering whether Oreos are vegan-friendly. While you’ll be happy to know that the company is working to make Oreos vegan, you should be aware that this popular brand does contain some non-vegan ingredients. Most varieties of Oreos contain sugar, which isn’t necessarily vegan. But the company says that their sugar is produced sustainably and doesn’t involve the slaughter of animals.


Skittles are considered vegan by most standards, but vegans should be aware of the ethical concerns regarding palm oil. The demand for palm oil has devastated rainforests. For this reason, vegans should avoid Skittles. There are a number of vegan alternatives to Skittles.


Vegans can enjoy a variety of treats without harming their health. Whole Foods, health-food stores, and online stores sell alternative minis that are both vegan and allergy-friendly. TheĀ vegan chocolates popular Halloween Chocolate Minis are vegan and contain three ingredients: unsweetened chocolate, cane sugar, and cocoa butter. They come in cute Halloween bags with bats on the front.

Jolly Ranchers

While many vegans may not have a problem with the natural flavoring in Jolly Ranchers, others may not. This is due to the fact that natural flavors may be derived from animal sources. Some candy manufacturers do not disclose the origins of their natural flavors, however.


Smarties, the vegan candy, are a popular candy that does not contain dairy. They are coated with a sugary starch called dextrose to give them that buttery texture. Although the candy is dairy-free, it does contain gelatin, a liquid derived from boiled animal parts. This substance is a common ingredient in confectioneries and is responsible for the chewy texture.

Pixy Stix

Pixy Stix are a vegan candy, which means that they don’t contain any animal ingredients. Instead, they contain artificial colors and flavors, and less than 2% maltodextrin. Pixy Stix are perfect for a sweet-and-sour treat. You can dip them in flavored sugar and let them dissolve in your mouth.